My Fleet of Ships (Drama OTP’s that spells CHEMISTRY all the way) KDRAMA EDITION

I.AM.A.Shipper. Certified and 100% a shipper. However before you say anything I’m not the type of shipper to like really pin all hopes and wish for them to end up together in real life (because I can still differentiate the reality from dramas). I just think that it’s fun that for a particular show you like the chemistry of the leads together and hopelessly wish for them to star in another drama again. I’m just a girl with simple dreams and wishes. Anyway here are my compilation of on-screen pairings that made me squeal real hard when they appear on the screen together and hope that they will be together on another drama. Some of them are famous ships and some probably I’m the only passenger. The list is not in order though. I kinda equally love them all. Haha

Choi Jin Hyuk and Lee Yeon Hee (Gu Family Book)

gufamily_48

I know a drama with them together is far-fetched but I’m just happy that they were paired together once and gave me a heartbreak (I’m not sure if I should be thankful for that though). The two of them are in the drama Gu Family Book starring Suzy and Lee Seunggi. You see they are not really the main lead but they’re the parents of Lee Seunggi’s character in the drama. I can’t really recommend the drama because it’s not that good hence I could not really remember what it’s all about. However the tears I shed while watching their tragic love story unfolded was still fresh in my mind. Suzy and Lee Seunggi were the lead but Choi Jin Hyuk and Lee Yeon Hee’s character stole the spotlight for me. I just don’t know why I felt that way but I really cried so hard on their part and I can’t even remember why. Like seriously and for you to understand the situation, know that I’m not the type of person to easily cry while watching heartbreaking love stories. (I just sighed while watching A Moment to Remember and laughed at my cousin while she was bawling over Titanic.)

Choi Sulli and Choi Minho (To the Beautiful You)

to-the-beautiful-you-minho-sulli

I know it’s a mess of a drama. It’s the korean version of Hana Kimi. Although the drama is not poorly produced it was somewhat poorly acted in certain areas. But I’m not talking about acting here so I’ll just say that it’s the kind of drama that you would want to watch if you don’t want to think of anything. However I can’t really say I hated the drama because it introduced me to one of my long time k-actor crush Kang Haneul. He’s one of the saving grace of that drama along with of course the “Choi Ship.” I really don’t know why I was really invested in this ship but after watching the series I even started writing fanfics and stalked them and discovered that they’re both idols under the same agency.

Kang Haneul and Kim Ji Won (The Heirs)

873

It’s been four years since Kang Haneul and Kim Ji Won sort of happened in The Heirs. And since then Jin Goo and Kim Ji Won happened (Descendants of the Sun) and recently Park Seojoon and Kim Ji Won (Fight My Way) however I will never forget this small ship that was born out of that mess of a drama. And as I have said it’s been four years and I think I’m the only passenger in this small boat but it doesn’t matter I’m not the type of person to abandon ship. I really loved them both and lowkey hoping that they’ll star on a drama together again, as main leads this time.

Gong Hyo Jin and So Ji Sub (The Master’s Sun)

So-Ji-Sub-Gong-Hyo-Jin-3

I have to admit that I wasn’t interested when I first say the trailer of Master’s Sun. I was just starting on my kdrama addiction and I used to look at the visuals of the main leads for me to get interesed in the show (terrible, I know). However there was one night when I was really bored and the only drama that I haven’t watched in my laptop was The Master’s Sun and before I knew it I didn’t sleep until I finished the show. I stayed up all night until morning to afternoon and finished the whole 16 episodes in one go, without sleep and fast forward. The story was really good and the chemistry between them is even better. Both are good actors and they just fit really together in the drama.

Gong Hyo Jin and Jo In Sung (It’s Okay, It’s Love)

sirms1

It would be years later when I saw It’s Okay, It’s Love and unexpectedly love it to bits and pieces. Just when I thought that I would be loyal on Gong Hyo Jin and So Ji Sub ship, Jo In Sung came in like a wrecking ball and rocked that original ship big time. Gong Hyo Jin played an entirely different character in this drama compared to The Master’s Sun but she pulled it off really well. The main reason I love this ship so much, except for the obvious fact that they really have chemistry, is because of the kind of character that they played in the drama. They’re both mature adult with issues and secrets and ended up falling in love with each other. The beginning was the hate at first sight trope but unlike that usual path that this trope takes there was just minimal in denial stage that both of them went through. They were both honest when they realized that they developed feelings for each other and I think it’s a different twist that the drama offered.

It’s just funny that I realized that both of them (Jo In Sung and So Ji Sub) starred in the second kdrama that I watched and I will forever remember because of its ending, Memories in Bali. Even in another life I think I would still think of the kind of ending that show gave, but that’s another story.

Yeo Jin-Goo and Kim Yoojung (The Moon that Embraces the Sun)

bad83a3af37b3fb68016d85104d64df5

These child actors were one of the best thing about The Moon that Embraces the Sun a.k.a my favorite Korean saeguk drama (it was not until I watched it the second time that I realized how good it was). They’re just so cute together and their chemistry is just explosive despite being so young when they starred on that drama. And both of them acted so well too. I’m just hoping that now that both of them are grown-up, can they star in another drama together? I don’t need angst just give me some light teenage lovestory and I will support all the way.

Yeo Jin-Goo and Kim Soohyun (Missing You)

South Korean actor Yeo Jin-goo and actress Kim So-hyun react in front of a camera on the red carpet during 2015 Mnet Asian Music Awards (MAMA) in Hong Kong
South Korean actor Yeo Jin-goo and actress Kim So-hyun react in front of a camera on the red carpet during 2015 Mnet Asian Music Awards (MAMA) in Hong Kong, China December 2, 2015. (Photo by Bobby Yip/Reuters)

Although I tried to be faithful to Yeo Jin-Goo and Kim Yoojung ship, Missing You happened and bam! However I didn’t abandon the first ship, it’s just that Jin-Goo and Soohyun also looks so good together in that drama. It was a very dark drama and the only light were Yeo Jin-Goo and Kim Soohyun. I find it funny that the three of them starred in The Moon that Embraces the Sun together.

Kim Min Jae and Kim Soohyun (Goblin)

ohmib4

They were the best thing that happened in that drama. Playing as the past life of Grim Reaper (Lee Dong Wook) and Sunny (Yoo Inna) they exudes chemistry on the screen. Both of them are amazing actors and they look good in historical clothing so crossing my fingers for them to be in a historical drama together, as the main leads this time.

Also I think that the reason why I ship them because Kim Minjae really has an uncanny resemblance to Yeo Jin-Goo. I even mistook them as one person.

Park Hae Jin and Kim Go Eun (Cheese in the Trap)

奶酪陷阱

Yes, I know that was a mess of a drama but I loved it. Even the ending. I know that they could do so much better than what they did to the drama in the middle to the end because it started good but still it became one of my fave kdramas. I think the reason I loved it was the portrayal of realistic situations in college and the people that you see in the drama actually exists in real life.

Kim Go Eun is not the prettiest Korean actress but she has that certain charm to her especially when she smiles. And I think it complimented with Park Hae Jin’s cold looks and there you have it a good pair on the screen. I can’t find the right words but I just love them so I’ll leave it to that.

Ji Chang Wook and Park Minyoung (Healer)

c3cc20f617cb87e99c947931d46d040e8835e2a8_hq

Before I say anything about how I loved them together I would just like to say that Ji Chang Wook is a chemistry genius. Maybe it’s because of that gorgeous face but he really looks good with whoever you pair him with and let’s start with Park Minyoung. Healer is the first drama I’ve seen from both of them and it’s also in the list of my favorite korean drama. The story, the acting, the OST and especially the OTP I can’t find anything to complain about the drama. They’re just so great and so compatible on-screen and I would like to thank my friend for her unending persuasion for me to watch this drama because it’s worth it.

Ji Chang Wook and Im Yoona (The K2)

CszvtGVUkAELF85

I had high expectations for the drama because two of my favorite people are starring in it but it turned out to be disappointment. The drama had so much potential but the writer just decided to ruin it. The only thing I was thankful for it was that it gave us Ji Chang Wook and Im Yoona on the same screen and you can really feel their chemistry together. Honestly I only watched their scenes together in the drama and there are only a few so to the drama-gods out there please put them in another drama together, this time with a good script and plot.

Ji Chang Wook and Nam Ji Hyun (Suspicious Partner)

bd0f7316-ba16-4f5d-9005-395c26345baf

Another proof that Ji Chang Wook’s face really suits with a lot of people. He looks so good with Nam Ji Hyun in this drama. The story of the drama is promising and good so hopefully they won’t ruin. This is also gonna be Ji Chang Wook’s last drama before he enters the military so we’ll have to wait for another two years to see him again on our screen.

Yoon Park and Han Hyeri (Age of Youth)

CnUAnAVUsAAaHHY

Age of Youth is a very very good kdrama that fell under the radar of the kdrama watchers out there. Only a few got acquainted with this amazing drama and the 5 amazing girls in Belle Epoque. It’s not really a romance-centered drama but they give us this wonderful ship and hopefully we’ll know what happened to them in the second season. Yoon Park and Han Hyeri looked so good together and I can just squeal whenever they are on the screen together.

Jo Jong-Suk and Park Bo-Young (Oh My Ghostess)

oh-my-ghost1

I call them the puppy ship. Seriously both of them are so cute together and even though the drama has some horror in the story it didn’t really scare me. I just keep on grinning while watching them on the screen because they really look so good together. No words. Their chemistry is just on another level.

Eric Mun and Seo Hyun Jin (Another Oh Haeyoung)

20160704010000566_1

I can’t really say I loved the drama because I hated the pathetic character of the female lead. I mean I just can’t understand her so I will not talk about the drama but on just how Eric Mun and Seo Hyun Jin’s chemistry made me watch the drama. Impeccable chemistry. Period.

Leave a Reply

